Novosti i događanja

Sokol Claim 2014 Croatian Indoor Cup


Sokol CC from Zagreb are the 2014 Croatian Indoor Cricket Cup winners after beating rivals Split CC in the final in Zagreb on Sunday...

Split CC made sure the long trip up north was worthwhile when they beat Zagreb Chief's in a thrilling last-over knock-out match to make the final against the only unbeaten side of the weekend - Sokol CC. Sunday's match to see who made the final against Sokol CC was set up nicely after the Chief's tied an enthrawling match with Sokol on Saturday. Chasing 59 to win, the Chiefs needed 2 runs off the last ball of the match to steal an exciting victory, but could only manage a tie to record the first even tie in Croatian Indoor Cup history. When Sokol, Chief's and Split all beat the Badgers, it meant a repeat of the Zagreb 8's final between the Chief's and Split to see who would advance through to the final. Split were set 33 to win and chased down the total in the last over in a see-saw match to stop the Chiefs making their first final.

After winning the toss and being restricted to just 33 thanks to some good bowling from the Sokol attack, Split were always on the back foot and sensible batting made sure Sokol made no mistake to claim back-to-back Croatian Indoor Cups.

The two-day tournament was held in good spirits, and thanks goes out to Split CC for making the trip up to Zagreb, those who helped organise, umpries and scorers, and spectators (the girls) who turned up to support.

Winners: Sokol CC

Richard Probst
Vedran Žanko
Pero Bošnjak
Jasen Butković
Luka Papa Stubbs
Lloyd Anderson
Goran Paladin
Mark Dobrić
Paul Mušin
Craig Sinovich

Runners - Up: Split CC

Bowler of the Tournament - Vedran Žanko (Sokol CC)

Batsman of the Tournament - Ivan Paški Pažanin (Split CC)

Spirit of Cricket - Mate Marović and Željko Lipanović (Split CC)